Information Studies

Programme profile

The Information Studies Programme studies the relationship between information technology and people. Information studies is a humanistic field of inquiry which investigates the role of technology in people's daily lives and in interpersonal communication, as well as the interaction between people and technology. The interdisciplinary field of information studies draws on research on organisations, communication, IT, design, society and technology.

The programme’s research activities cover areas such as health IT, interaction processes, system development, interface culture, surveillance, IT in urban spaces, and IT and business.

The research environment

The Information Studies Programme was established at AU  in 1986 and has the longest tradition of research and education in this field in Denmark. The research environment features strong research competencies in the areas of interaction design, STS (Science-Technology-Society) studies and digital design.

The field of information studies is aimed at creating productive links between  theory and practice in society through cooperation and interventions.  The Information Studies Programme at  is one of the country’s strongest centres for promoting this aim. Information Studies not only offers a wide range of IT and media degree programmes, it also has close links to other businesses and programmes in IT City Katrinebjerg. The programme is located in INCUBA  Park, which is also home to B&O, Google, and the Alexandra Institute, a non-profit company which works with application oriented IT research.

Degree programmes

The Information Studies Programme offers Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programmes in information studies as well as a number of electives

Academic staff

NameJob titleEmailPhoneMobilebuildingroom
Albrechtslund, AndersAssociate professoralb@dac.au.dk+45 8716 1954+45 216303885347131
Andersen, Christian UlrikAssociate professorcua@cavi.au.dk+45 8716 19985347226
Andersen, Lars BoPost docimvlba@dac.au.dk+45 8716 32095335156
Basballe, Ditte AmundPhD Studentbasballe@cavi.au.dk+45 8716 19615347237
Biskjær, Michael MosePostdoc, MA, PhDmmb@cavi.au.dk+45 8716 20235335248
Bossen, ClausAssociate professorimvcb@dac.au.dk+45 8716 19835347136
Brandorff, Steffenimvseb@dac.au.dk+45 8716 20015347126
Breinbjerg, MortenAssociate professormbrein@dac.au.dk+45 8716 19975347222
Brynskov, MartinAssociate professorbrynskov@cavi.au.dk+45 8716 1962+45 306804245335263
Bøge, Ask RisomPhD Studentimvarb@dac.au.dk+45 8716 20285347130
Christensen, JensAssociate professorimvjc@dac.au.dk+45 8716 20075347228
Dalsgård, Peterdalsgaard@cavi.au.dk+45 8716 20195335265
Danholt, PeterAssociate professorpdanholt@dac.au.dk+45 8716 20065347135
Dindler, Christiandindler@dac.au.dk+45 8716 20165335259
Dinesen, Anne MarieAssociate professorimvamd@dac.au.dk+45 8716 19845347142
Fritsch, Jonasfritsch@cavi.au.dk+45 8716 32125335261
Glud, Louise NørgaardPhD Studentimvlng@dac.au.dk+45 8716 2012+45 514486705347128
Halskov, KimProfessor with Special Responsiblitieshalskov@cavi.au.dk+45 8716 1982+45 289922515335255
Iversen, Ole SejerProfessor with Special Responsiblitiesoiversen@cavi.au.dk+45 8716 1996+45 505467785335257
Lauritsen, PeterAssociate professorpeter@dac.au.dk+45 8716 1985+45 244838975347134
Olesen, FinnAssociate professorfinno@dac.au.dk+45 8716 19925347138
Olesen, Niels Erik SkovIT Staff Membernielseriks.olesen@au.dk+45 8715 1262+45 22431210
Pold, SørenAssociate professorpold@cavi.au.dk+45 8716 19945347224
Schiølin, Kasper HedegårdPhD Studentimvksc@dac.au.dk+45 8716 20275347130
Storm, Per HenrikPhD Studentstorm@dac.au.dk+45 8716 32135347234
Tietze, JørgenPhD Studentjtietze@dac.au.dk+45 8716 19725347132
Ubbesen, Morten Bondeimvmbu@dac.au.dk+45 8716 2013+45 424041155347132
Veerasawmy, RunePhD Studentrunevn@cavi.au.dk+45 8716 19785347140
Witzke, Anne SophiePhD Studentannesophie.witzke@dac.au.dk+45 8716 19875347220
Comments on content: 
Revised 2014.06.17

Find Department of Aesthetics and Communication

Show detailed map

Are you a student?

Are you an employee?

Aarhus University
Nordre Ringgade 1
DK-8000 Aarhus C

Email: au@au.dk
Tel: +45 8715 0000
Fax: +45 8715 0201

CVR no: 31119103

AU on social media
Facebook
LinkedIn
Twitter
YouTube